Style News

FLANNEL FOR WORK

This fall, several designers, including Ascot Chang, have liberated the soft-to-the-touch plaid flannel shirt from the clutches of grunge and transformed it into a respectable business alternative. The French cuffs and trim fit bring a touch of elegance to the burly staple.

1009-DE-STFL-01

Take the timeless appeal of a dashing gray suit, combine it with the woolly emblem of nineties angst, and the resulting ensemble is fresher than the sum of its parts.

The Suit
Wearing flannel with a lightweight suit is like pouring Guinness into a champagne flute. Like a good mug, a thick virgin wool suit makes the perfect vessel.

The Tie
Save your smooth silk neckwear for piqué-cotton shirts—when it comes to substantial flannels, more textured ties are in order, like knits and nubby wools.

The Pattern
You can't go wrong in a heathered gray shirt or in a traditional plaid. Just exercise caution and stick with compact checks in navy, dark green, or brick red.

1009-DE-STFL-021009-DE-STFL-03
1009-DE-STFL-041009-DE-STFL-05
1009-DE-STFL-061009-DE-STFL-07

[Top] Suit ($2,630) by Dior Homme, diorhomme.com. Shirt ($198) by Ascot Chang, 212-759-3333. Tie ($60) by J. Crew, jcrew.com. Tie bar, vintage. [Above, clockwise from top left ] Shirt ($198) by Ascot Chang, 212-759-3333; tie ($95) by Jack Spade, jackspade.com. Shirt ($79) by Club Monaco, clubmonaco.com; tie ($90) by DKNY, dkny.com. Shirt ($165) by Jack Spade, 212-675-4085; tie ($60) by J. Crew, jcrew.com. Shirt ($285) by Spurr, spurr.tv; tie ($75) by Polo by Ralph Lauren, ralphlauren.com. Shirt ($230) by Robert Geller, robertgeller-ny.com; tie ($150) by Black Fleece by Brooks Brothers, brooksbrothers.com. Shirt ($295) by Hamilton Shirts, hamiltonshirts.com; tie ($130) by Calvin Klein Collection, 877-256-7373.

READ MORE:
How to pull off a classic black suit
Does your suit need help?
The 9 worst bowtie offenders

Details Newsletters
I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its User Agreement, and Privacy Policy.
Subscribe to Details
Newsletter Sign Up
  • Get the latest in men's style, grooming, diet, fitness and pop-culture trends every Wednesday. See Sample
  • Get the most popular articles, blog posts, and slideshows of the past week every Saturday. See Sample
I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its User Agreement, and Privacy Policy.
AROUND THE WEB
Powered By ZergNet
Subscribe to Details

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest in men's style, grooming, health, and pop-culture news every day.
Will be in accordance with our Privacy Policy